Team-BHP > Team-BHP Reviews > Test-Drives & Initial Ownership Reports


Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 21st March 2021, 19:57   #61
BHPian
 
gusfring's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Hogwarts
Posts: 61
Thanked: 104 Times
Default re: My 2020 Flame Red Tata Tiago XZA+ Automatic Review | EDIT: 2 years & 15000 km up

Quote:
Originally Posted by janakiram_m View Post
Congratulations on the Tigor! The updated version is dated November so I'm confused why Tata couldn't update the freshly made models like yours from the factory itself.
Funnily enough I have a similar issue. My car was made in October so it couldn't have gotten the November firmware, but when I went for the first service in Feb I clearly mentioned that the software needs to be updated (is on September 2019). And they didn't
I noticed this after a 10h wait at the service station, and as it was end of day and I had to collect the car I didn't press the issue.
Also wouldn't there have been more firmware updates between September 2019 and November 2020?

PS. thanks for the update and keep 'em coming!!! Three months in, the journey for me has been super cool!!! I agree totally with overtakes requiring tons of planning, this ain't the fastest kid in the block. But city performance is very good, which is what our usage entails for almost the entire part. It is great to cruise in the highways though, I maintain 80 to 90, and this kind of makes the ride enjoyable for us all, the car included

Last edited by gusfring : 21st March 2021 at 20:00.
gusfring is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd March 2021, 00:01   #62
Senior - BHPian
 
TrackDay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Magic land
Posts: 1,048
Thanked: 4,260 Times
Default re: My 2020 Flame Red Tata Tiago XZA+ Automatic Review | EDIT: 2 years & 15000 km up

Happy birthday to Manjadikuru. You car looks beautiful in the pictures and what a name ! For us folks in Kerala, the name will be very familiar .
TrackDay is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th March 2021, 21:04   #63
BHPian
 
janakiram_m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 87
Thanked: 1,017 Times
Default DIY : Adding Boot Area Light

DIY : Boot Area Light


Boot Lights is one of those irritating deletions that Tata had made with Tiago. Ordered the parts from Boodmo and took around 30mins for the installation.

Parts and tools used:
1. Tata OEM boot area light (Part No. 287154409932)
2. Wires - 3.5 m approx.
3. Crimped connectors

I had already done a footwell lights installation as a DIY (DIY: Footwell Lights Install in a Tata Tiago). I had places two wire connectors on each footwell for troubleshooting and for future mods. Using the connector at the driver footwell at was able to draw power for the boot area light.

Steps:
1. Connected the wires to the footwell connector.
2. Routed the wires through the plastic panels at the driver door sill area, then through the rear door beading until the top of the rear seat and then towards the designated light cutout.
3. Attached a connector to the end of the routed wire.
4. Used two crimped wires to connect the light and connector mentioned in Step 3.
5. Fixed the light in place.

I tried soldering the wires to the light but the cramped area made it difficult. There was a damaged electric kettle lying around and I remembered it had crimped wires in it from when I tried to repair it. So opened it up and took the donor crimped wires.

Some pics:

Plastic cover where the lights used to be before the deletion by Tata:
My 2020 Flame Red Tata Tiago XZA+ Automatic Review | EDIT: 2 years & 15000 km up-img_20210330_150106.jpg

Package from Boodmo:
My 2020 Flame Red Tata Tiago XZA+ Automatic Review | EDIT: 2 years & 15000 km up-img_20210330_130157.jpg

The order to delivery time was almost like amazon. Ordered on Friday evening, Saturday item was shipped through Delhivery from Jaipur and reached me in Trivandrum by Tuesday. Packaging was good but I have one gripe with the seller.The box is labelled as 2 pieces but I ordered only one. I ordered only one because delivery charges for two lights was double even though it could be packaged in a single box. Cost Rs.186 including delivery for the single piece.

The light:
My 2020 Flame Red Tata Tiago XZA+ Automatic Review | EDIT: 2 years & 15000 km up-img_20210330_131827.jpg

Need to replace the bulb with an LED. I will order another light for the left side and planning to switch to LEDs during that installation.

After Step 4:
My 2020 Flame Red Tata Tiago XZA+ Automatic Review | EDIT: 2 years & 15000 km up-img_20210330_155506.jpg

The white plastic on the light is a switch which I think is useful for when boot stays open for a longer time than usual.

Tidying up:
My 2020 Flame Red Tata Tiago XZA+ Automatic Review | EDIT: 2 years & 15000 km up-img_20210330_155601.jpg

In action:
My 2020 Flame Red Tata Tiago XZA+ Automatic Review | EDIT: 2 years & 15000 km up-img_20210330_190442.jpg

Last edited by janakiram_m : 30th March 2021 at 21:09.
janakiram_m is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 20th March 2022, 15:24   #64
BHPian
 
janakiram_m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 87
Thanked: 1,017 Times
Default re: My 2020 Flame Red Tata Tiago XZA+ Automatic Review | EDIT: 2 years & 15000 km up

Update : 2 Years and 15,000 kms.


Manjadikuru turned two the past week!

A rollercoaster of an year for us as a family and Manjadikuru was a witness for all of it.

-Soon after my last update, went to one of our neighborhood beaches, Aayiramthengu.

My 2020 Flame Red Tata Tiago XZA+ Automatic Review | EDIT: 2 years & 15000 km up-img_20210405_171446.jpg

-After that the second wave of Covid -19 hit us in April. Me and my wife along with my parents tested positive and it was a frightening situation at that time. After the quarantine I went out and fired her up and let her bask in the sun. She was the one who took us to hospital and in a sense she was in quarantine too.

My 2020 Flame Red Tata Tiago XZA+ Automatic Review | EDIT: 2 years & 15000 km up-img_20210520_140810__01__01.jpg

- The first wound. I have not bothered fixing this till now. On the floorboard at passenger side. I was navigating through a narrow lane and some debris on the side of the road caused this. Overestimated the GC.

My 2020 Flame Red Tata Tiago XZA+ Automatic Review | EDIT: 2 years & 15000 km up-img_20210719_082737.jpg

- Crossed 10,000kms on August 7th.

My 2020 Flame Red Tata Tiago XZA+ Automatic Review | EDIT: 2 years & 15000 km up-img_20210807_090732.jpg

- An outing along with my buddies to Ponmudi. The car might be thinking if I don't know any other hill station.

My 2020 Flame Red Tata Tiago XZA+ Automatic Review | EDIT: 2 years & 15000 km up-img_20210828_084204__01.jpg

The fog lights were used for it's intended purpose for the first time. There was only moderate fog. I was not able to assess their effectiveness due to little traffic and it was daytime.

My 2020 Flame Red Tata Tiago XZA+ Automatic Review | EDIT: 2 years & 15000 km up-img_20210828_091326__01.jpg

- Ooh Fancy 11111 on September 27th. Unfortunately 12345 was missed because I was on a call when odo ticked over.

My 2020 Flame Red Tata Tiago XZA+ Automatic Review | EDIT: 2 years & 15000 km up-img_20210927_181508.jpg

- Newest addition to the family garage finally came for a visit from Kozhikode. Highline+ AT. Sorry for the eye sore bumper guards, it's been removed after my stern advice.

My 2020 Flame Red Tata Tiago XZA+ Automatic Review | EDIT: 2 years & 15000 km up-img_20211007_101008.jpg

- Changed the wipers myself. Ordered Bosch ones from Boodmo. Old and New.

My 2020 Flame Red Tata Tiago XZA+ Automatic Review | EDIT: 2 years & 15000 km up-img_20211102_165311.jpg

- Added strings to the parcel shelf. These are meant for Altroz. But the mounting pin is same and compatible with Tiago. I had to drill a hole each on each side on the parcel shelf. I would have preferred the ball type hanging strings but couldn't find any. These strings kind of curve in after closing the boot.

My 2020 Flame Red Tata Tiago XZA+ Automatic Review | EDIT: 2 years & 15000 km up-img_20211106_174806.jpg

Part Numbers for the Pin/Button:
267869106376
267869106375

Both of these are needed for each side.

My 2020 Flame Red Tata Tiago XZA+ Automatic Review | EDIT: 2 years & 15000 km up-img_20211130_121044.jpg

My 2020 Flame Red Tata Tiago XZA+ Automatic Review | EDIT: 2 years & 15000 km up-img_20211130_121331.jpg

Name:  ezgif.comgifmaker 1.gif
Views: 119
Size:  5.33 MB

- At my father's ancestral home. It was quite difficult to park like this because of incline when reversing and short space. Along with that, AMT disengaging with the slightest touch of the brake pedal. Reminds me of the following bit from top gear.



-Crossed 12,000kms on December 11. You guys might notice the black tape I put on top of the instant fuel economy meter. Driving has been so pleasurable since I did this. Driving my brother's Polo reminded me of how I was changing my driving style for squeezing out more kmpl than smiles per litre. Hands down most essential mod I have done in the car.

My 2020 Flame Red Tata Tiago XZA+ Automatic Review | EDIT: 2 years & 15000 km up-img_20211211_172401.jpg

- The broken RHS ORVM indicator was changed as a DIY. Boodmo had free delivery during Diwali time and had placed order for the same. Removing the cowl is tricky but the rest is plug and play.

Part No. for the indicator 542781100143.

My 2020 Flame Red Tata Tiago XZA+ Automatic Review | EDIT: 2 years & 15000 km up-img_20220122_080116.jpg

Just two screws and the connector pin.

My 2020 Flame Red Tata Tiago XZA+ Automatic Review | EDIT: 2 years & 15000 km up-img_20220122_073638.jpg

My 2020 Flame Red Tata Tiago XZA+ Automatic Review | EDIT: 2 years & 15000 km up-img_20220122_074650.jpg

Name:  ezgif.comgifmaker.gif
Views: 116
Size:  5.02 MB

- And finally the garage mates waiting nervously at the hospital parking. I waited the same way in front of the labour room! Yes! We have been blessed with a baby girl.

My 2020 Flame Red Tata Tiago XZA+ Automatic Review | EDIT: 2 years & 15000 km up-img_20220217_172353.jpg

- Got our little bundle of joy home in Manjadikuru. She travelled in the rear seat for the short journey home from the hospital.

My 2020 Flame Red Tata Tiago XZA+ Automatic Review | EDIT: 2 years & 15000 km up-img_20220221_171822.jpg

- And with that back to work. Open parking at my current lodging area. Since there is no shade, I contemplated buying a cover for so long and ordered one this week.

My 2020 Flame Red Tata Tiago XZA+ Automatic Review | EDIT: 2 years & 15000 km up-img_20220305_203308.jpg

- Ever since the kid was born, my fortnightly run to hometown has become weekly. And the last 1000km was the fastest yet.

My 2020 Flame Red Tata Tiago XZA+ Automatic Review | EDIT: 2 years & 15000 km up-img_20220315_072708.jpg

- Fuel Economy has stayed consistent since the first oil change. MID shows 20-22 kmpl on 100% highway runs and drops to 19-18 kmpl on the last stretch when entering the city. MID is about 1.5-2kmpl optimistic.

Pure City drives with heavy traffic shows MID readings of 10-11 kmpl and with light traffic shows 13-15 kmpl.

My tank to tank reading have gotten me the highest of 18.35kmpl since last update.

-After the last update went in for two services, the six month minor checkup and the annual service. Both with Trivandum Motors. I was billed ₹826 and ₹4170 respectively. The latter bill includes oil, oil filter and brake fluid.

I don't opt for wash and wheel alignment at the ASC. And I always tell them not to add anything including windshield washer fluids without me knowing. My experience with the particular ASC has been great and hoping it continues to do so.

- Wheel alignment and balancing was done at 10k kms. The next one is now due.

-Insurance for the year was renewed at ₹8,004. Cashless with Oriental Insurance Co. for one year Standalone B2B.

Now for the parting shot, chillin with big bro at home.

My 2020 Flame Red Tata Tiago XZA+ Automatic Review | EDIT: 2 years & 15000 km up-img_20220320_103134__01__01.jpg

Odo @ 15120 kms.

Last edited by janakiram_m : 20th March 2022 at 15:40. Reason: Insurance detail.
janakiram_m is offline   (23) Thanks
Old 22nd March 2022, 22:58   #65
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: Navi Mumbai
Posts: 2
Thanked: 6 Times
Default Re: My 2020 Flame Red Tata Tiago XZA+ Automatic Review | EDIT: 2 years & 15000 km up

Hello Janakiram...

Congratulations to both of you on parenthood, and wish the li'l one a great life!

Your detailed, excellent review and ownership thread of Manjadikuru helped me greatly last year when looking for our (technically) first car.
While the higher-authority and I both liked the Tiago's looks/features/comfort etc., my 5yo declared he wants a red one that made things easy for us.

Almost six months and 41xx km later I was beginning to worry about the city mileage (~12.6 kmpl says Fuelio, ~14 says MID) but right about then you posted the 2 year update and put my mind to rest!

I've read your review/DIY/other posts a bunch of times and always crack up at the comments on the missing parcel strings and boot lamp. Looks like you've sorted those out now.

Thank you for the wonderful posts, keep 'em comin, and wish you all many more happy journeys.
FlamebkWoodpkr is offline  
Reply

Most Viewed
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Copyright 2000 - 2022, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks